Forgotten Me: a poem from a friend


Forgotten Me

I Am I
Forgotten Me
Standing at the Gates
Of Liberty
Unable to Enter
Unwanted, Unloved
Hopelessly Struggling
Beneath your Cold Thumb

I Am I
Rejected, Unseen
Your Poor Children’s Eyes
Need Swift Covering
As I Stand on the
Corner
Sign in My Hand
Crying Compassion
Receiving its Sham

I Am I
The Down & Out
Hope Steady Dying
Time Running Out
From Shelter to Shelter
No Bed to Call Home
Society’s Rejected
On My Neck Hangs a Stone

I Am I
You Might Pity Me
But You Never Will Touch
‘Cause We’re Only Lazy,
The Unwashed, Disgusting
You Offer A Dime
While You Roll Your Eyes
If We Merit That Much
Most Just Look Past & Sigh

I Am I
Am I Still A Man?
My Blood Still Bleeds Red
I Just Need Help to Stand
Fell on Hard Times
Or Did They Fall on Me?
Broken in Heart
My Dreams Are Failing

I Am I
As You Legislate
Tear Down My Poor Tent
And Push Us Away
Vans In A Field
Where My Family Stays
Or Under The Overpass
A Stone For My Head
As You Sneer At Me – A Bother
To The Life You Have Led

I Am I
Yet Your Brother Still
But As You Drive Past Us
To Home & Job that You Trust
You Should Know that Last Month
I Was Driving Past..To..
But For the Sake of God’s Grace
Here Now Stands You
And

I Am I…
Forgotten.

S. LaDon Ware © Copyright, 2010

About homelessnessinsavannah

Advocating for Homelessness Issues in Savannah, GA, so that we can educate, share experiences & generate a Christian understanding of the issues & people who experience, support & attempt to end homelessness in Savannah, GA or anywhere else we can share stories from or about...
This entry was posted in Contribution, Poem and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Forgotten Me: a poem from a friend

  1. Pingback: Welcome to a learning experience about Homelessness! | Homelessness in Savannah, Stories for Learning

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Forgotten Me: a poem from a friend | Homelessness in Savannah, Stories for Learning -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

