Even TED speakers have homelessness to talk about: Becky Blanton: The year I was homeless | Video on TED.com


Becky Blanton planned to live in her van for a year and see the country, but when depression set in and her freelance job ended, her camping trip turned into homelessness. In this intimate talk, she describes her experience of becoming one of Americas working homeless.

About Becky Blanton: Becky Blanton is a writer, photographer and former journalist who found herself homeless, but bounced back to tell her story and inspire others. Full bio and more links

For those of you familiar with TED you know that the speakers chosen to present in their organization have loads of talent & abilities to share information that’s moving to say the least on topics that are new & interesting to lots of folks.

Would you have expected a talk on homelessness let alone a personal experience piece in a TED talk?

Here it is – adding fuel to the fire that the face of homelessness has changed.

See if this inspires you or changes your perspectives about homelessness – eliminates the stereotypes you may have of the homeless!

Let us know what you think about homelessness after you watch this talk!

via Becky Blanton: The year I was homeless | Video on TED.com.

About homelessnessinsavannah

Advocating for Homelessness Issues in Savannah, GA, so that we can educate, share experiences & generate a Christian understanding of the issues & people who experience, support & attempt to end homelessness in Savannah, GA or anywhere else we can share stories from or about...
This entry was posted in Advocvacy, homeless, Poverty, Video and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Even TED speakers have homelessness to talk about: Becky Blanton: The year I was homeless | Video on TED.com

  1. Reblogged this on Homelessness in Savannah, Stories for Learning and commented:

    Becky Blanton has engaged elsewhere on this blog with comments most recently around the post we did after the February Homeless Authority Board meeting on 2/19/2013. This TED speaker has a lot of experience in the area so we wanted to reshare this blog post here for background on her comments!

  2. Yes! I’m blogging – still trying to “find my voice” and message on my personal blog, but I blog solely about homeless issues on http://change.org. Sounds like you’re touching lives already! Do follow me and I’ll add you to my follow too. I don’t spend a lot of time on Twitter, but I do get alerts when my name pops up – @beckyblanton

  3. Thank you so much for sharing this video on your website! I’m happy to see it on a site that isn’t afraid to raise issues of faith, God and religion. Many of those I know who escaped the streets and found a way back into housing did so through some sort of faith and a belief in something greater than themselves. Call it hope, call it a higher power or call it God (I do), I think being aware of or believing in more than what is before you is critical in moving forward. I’m not one to debate or argue the reality of God. He’s real to me and a critical aspect of my life. I respect people’s right to believe whatever they choose to believe. It’s just such an integral aspect of personal growth I think it needs to be part of the conversation. Good luck with the blog – and keep writing! We change lives one person at a time!

    • Thanks Becky – I am very familiar with TED (we had a TEDxCC – Creative Coast – Savannah, GA event here recently). For some reason I thought I’d do a search today on homelessness & there you were – I haven’t actually watched the whole video yet but I certainly will! Thanks for the encouragement – my advocacy is just me blogging but I am pushing service providers & the local Authority for the Homeless for engagement on the events I have written about here in Savannah – World Homelessness Day & our local Picnic in the Park (a social event). I also have some visions for other projects that I will be writing about soon too! The religion thing has been interesting here – first day I put up the blog I got a comment asking about my only wanting a Christian response which I have clarified & have broadened the language to be inclusive of all faiths per her diagram which I borrowed on the post. I have fond several books I will be writing about & have posted on Facebook & Twitter already – BTW, so you have these? I’d like to follow you – are you blogging now too? God Bless you & thanks for your story & willingness to share it in such a public way as TED! Thanks again for the interest in my writings.

Leave a Reply

